A new version of Cineversity has been launched. This legacy site and its tutorials will remain accessible for a limited transition period

Visit the New Cineversity

Getting Started with CINEMA 4D, Part 17 Outdated for R18
Posted: 16 May 2017 01:25 PM   [ Ignore ]  
Total Posts:  11
Joined  2017-05-07

My apologizes should I be incorrect about this matter.

Part 17, when using R18 at least for this beginner, has a completely different interface for the Material Editor.  This interface difference is so significant that I can no longer make use of this introductory Featured tutorial.  In the Part 17 video Patrick is utilizing settings that don’t even exist in R18.

I, being a complete beginner, can not integrate between the two completely different version Material Editor interfaces.  And, should it be possible, to set my R18 preferences so my Material Editor has an R15 interface; that is clearly not the answer.

In short, this matter is a serious problem and has brought the use of this fundamental introductory tutorial for this beginner to a crashing halt.  I realize as a Prime member I have access to thousands of videos and tutorials; yet, this video, I thought, was to provide a solid foundation to this very complex software.  Then at that point I could make use of the extensive search functionality in Cineversity to further my learning. 

Any citation to videos updating this Getting Started video would be appreciated.  But even then, how does one integrate back to the 2013 Getting Started video that I’m 2/3 of the way through?

Thank you.

Posted: 16 May 2017 02:33 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]  
Administrator
Total Posts:  12043
Joined  2011-03-04

Hi RR456,

I certainly understand your idea about this problem. It is frustrating to have to translate the content in the video to the interface of the video. The idea of an adapted interface is often not even possible, as things have maybe changed too much. I certainly can see you argument here.