A new version of Cineversity has been launched. This legacy site and its tutorials will remain accessible for a limited transition period

Visit the New Cineversity

CV VRcam presets vs Youtube help info (and 360vid issues in general)
Posted: 10 January 2017 04:20 PM   [ Ignore ]  
Total Posts:  13
Joined  2013-09-20

Just starting to dig in to 360 vids now with CV-VRcam and CV tutorials and one thing I’ve noticed is a discrepancy I’m seeing between what Youtube says videos should be, and what CV tutorials and CV-VRcam think. Youtube wants 1:1 videos for VR and 2:1 for 360, but CVtuts and VRcam talk about everything 16:9. It works to use CV’s approach, but I’m wondering if there is a better “sweet spot” for appropriate and acceptable resolution and manageable render times and file sizes. I’ve done a bunch of tests and sometimes get worse results (once uploaded to Youtube) from higher resolution, and the VRcam presets only give OK quality.

I’m new to most of this so I might just be missing something, so I thought I’d throw it our here and see if people have any insight.

Youtube help for 360 videos says:

“We recommend uploading 360 videos (equirectangular format with a 2:1 aspect ratio) at a resolution of 7168x3584 or higher, up to 8192x4096.”

(from: https://support.google.com/youtube/answer/6178631?hl=en&ref_topic=2888648)

Youtube help for VR videos says:

“Before you upload, we recommend that you export your content in over-under equirectangular format with a 1:1 aspect ratio at a resolution of 5120x5120 or higher, up to 8192x8192. Maintain square pixels (i.e.,1:1 pixel/scale aspect ratio).”

(from: https://support.google.com/youtube/answer/6316263?hl=en&ref_topic=2888648

Posted: 10 January 2017 05:54 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]  
Administrator
Total Posts:  12043
Joined  2011-03-04

Hi mikehoium,