A new version of Cineversity has been launched. This legacy site and its tutorials will remain accessible for a limited transition period

Visit the New Cineversity

C4D Editor Vs. Octane Material Editor
Posted: 09 May 2018 05:58 PM   [ Ignore ]  
Total Posts:  46
Joined  2018-02-05

Hi everyone,

I hope everyone is having a great day. I am new to Cinema 4D and can respect its broad and extensive value offering. Due to the size of the program, however, I have not gotten around to learning Cinema’s Material Editor. The question that came to mind is should a newbie like me learn C4D’s native material editor or go straight to Octane and focus on that?

I am working to achieve a solid foundation of Cinema 4D as a whole. All comments are most welcome.

Cheers everyone,

Faunt

Posted: 09 May 2018 06:18 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]  
Administrator
Total Posts:  12043
Joined  2011-03-04

Hi Faunt,

I’m not an Octane user, based on using only non compatible graphic cards. That is all I can share about Octane.

The variety of 3rd party renderer is certainly growing at the moment.
However, the question can’t really be answered without mentioning if you work alone or if you setting always the available hardware options, perhaps you like to freelance around the world or, or, or.

I can’t even think of a general answer other than: learn both.… learn more, if you think you need more than what is available natively. The latest discussion among hard core users went as follow: a huge portion loves the native options, based on the more organic feel (i.e., artifacts) and some even based on the need to fix and finish in post. The CPU based renderer seems not to be the “everyone loves it”,  but many do so with all their heart. It is just mixed at the moment. In other words, there is no “one size fits all” answer. It feels more like a very personal choice. To not have control about the different options, already installed, feels weird to me, but yes, it might be a time thing.